Skip to page body Home City Hall Residents Business Visitors Services Weho TV
News Review
Fire Chief Finalists Announced
Kelli Narde, Director of Communications, 303-795-3720
Posted Date: 11/25/2013 4:15 PM

Littleton City Manager Michael Penny has announced the names of six finalists for the Littleton Fire Rescue (LFR) chief position. John Mullin, chief since 2004, announced August 23 that he will retire after a 40-year career in the fire service effective December 31.

Penny conducted a national search to fill the position. The finalists are:

  • Christopher Armstrong, former division chief, City of Miramar, Florida
  • Joseph Bruce, chief, North Metro Fire Rescue, Arvada, Colorado
  • Gary Curmode, chief, Sedgwick County Fire District 1, Park City, Kansas
  • Jack McArthur, chief, City of Yuma, Arizona
  • Thomas Solberg, director of fire service training, Montana State University
  • Wayne Zygowicz, division chief, Littleton Fire Rescue

Interviews will be conducted December 9. Five panels, comprised of more than 40 people, will participate in the process. These include: department directors, LFR command staff, LFR rank and file staff, the fire partners/local fire chiefs, and a citizens panel.

LFR provides emergency response services and life safety education to the citizens of the City of Littleton, the Littleton Fire Protection District and the Highlands Ranch Metropolitan Districts. This service is delivered to more than 220,000 people residing in a 92 square-mile area. In 2012, LFR responded to almost 14,000 calls. Emergency response services include: fire suppression, emergency medical, hazardous materials, Tactical Emergency Medical Support, water rescue and recovery, and wildland fire.