Police News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

City manager finalist reception to be held May 18

Post Date:05/16/2022

Residents are invited to a reception to meet the three finalists to become Littleton’s new city manager. 

The reception will be held Wednesday, May 18 from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at the Littleton Museum, 6028 S. Gallup Street.

Littleton’s city manager recruitment efforts have narrowed the field to three finalists: 

  • James Becklenberg, city manager of Evans, Colorado since 2017. He was previously assistant city and county manager in Broomfield, Colorado. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from the University of Kansas. 
  • A.J. Krieger, town manager of Firestone, Colorado since 2018. He was previously town administrator in Erie, Colorado. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from Saint Louis University. 
  • Jim Thorsen, city manager of Cherry Hills Village from 2016-2020. He was previously city manager of Malibu, California. He holds a master’s degree in public administration from California State University Northridge. 

Utilizing the resources of CPS HR Consulting, the city council and consultants considered 77 applicants for the vacancy created by City Manager Mark Relph's retirement, effective June 1, 2022. 

Three panels will hold interviews May 18: the community, the city's leadership team and subject matter experts, and city council. The city council will conduct final interviews May 19 and is expected to select a new city manager in the following days subject to contract negotiations. 

Littleton Police Chief Doug Stephens will serve as interim city manager for the duration between Relph’s departure and the start date of the new city manager. 

Applicants hailed from across the United States. Littleton is considered a very desirable place to live and work thanks to a collaborative city council who established clear goals and a work plan, and a dedicated staff and citizenry who are committed to Littleton’s continued success. 

Read biographies of the finalists.

Return to full list >>